Picture-in-picture support for iOS and iPadOS devices rolling out now

YouTube is finally rolling out Picture-in-picture (PiP) support for the YouTube app on iOS and iPadOS, allowing users to watch videos in a floating window while using other applications.

While picture-in-picture has been available as a feature on iOS and iPadOS since the launch of iOS 14, enabled in apps like Netflix, Disney + and Apple TV, the feature was never implemented on YouTube.

Google announced the rollout on Monday, July 11th, and according to the Mountain View, California-based company, the feature will widely roll out over the “next several days.”

Non-Premium users in the United States will have access to PiP for non-music content, whereas Premium members globally will have access to PiP, regardless of the content (both music and non-music content). In Canada, PiP isn’t available to non-Premium iOS or iPadOS users, so spending a minimum of $11.99 per month would be necessary to utilize the feature.

If you don’t have PiP turned on, leaving YouTube while a video is playing will cause it to play in the background. To turn on the feature, head to the YouTube app on your iOS or iPadOS device > Settings > General and turn on Picture-in-Picture.

This comes after Google tested the feature out with Premium subscribers last summer. The test period ended in April this year.

Image credit: Google

Source: Google

For all the latest Technology News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechNewsBoy.com is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.