WhatsApp may soon allow you to hide your online status

Instant messaging platform WhatsApp is one of the most widely used communication tools across the world. With billions of users, the Meta-owned platform keeps introducing new features routinely. A report by WaBetaInfo suggests that WhatsApp may get a new much-awaited feature.
The report says that WhatsApp may soon allow users to hide their online status. A screenshot has been shared by WaBetaInfo that suggests that the feature is very much under development.


How will the feature work?

Users will have the option to choose with who they can share their last seen status. WhatsApp will add two new options — “Everyone” and “Same as Last Seen”. The report explains how the feature will work. You could choose “My Contacts” for “Last Seen” and “Same as Last Seen” online. This will ensure that anyone who isn’t on your contact list will not be able to see if and when you are online.
The screenshot shared by WaBetaInfo is on the beta version of WhatsApp on iOS. However, the feature is expected to come to WhatsApp for Android and desktop as well. By when the feature will roll out is not known as of now since the feature hasn’t even come to the beta version of the app.
Last year, WhatsApp introduced a similar feature but that was meant for how users interact with businesses. In December 2021, WhatsApp revealed that it was “making it harder for people you don’t know and haven’t chatted with from seeing your last seen and online presence on WhatsApp.” However, this was meant for anyone who a used had never previously messaged. In case, a user had a conversation with anyone then he/she/they could’ve seen when they were online.

For all the latest Technology News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechNewsBoy.com is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.